Pine Manor College’s 102nd Commencement took place on Sunday, May 12 2013. Before a cheering crowd of approximately 700 people, 59 students participated in the graduation ceremony. The College's Interim President, Dr. Ellen S. Hurwitz welcomed the graduating class, their families and friends, as well as representatives of the Board of Trustees, Alumnae, Faculty and Staff.

  Graduate Alie Johnston '13, presented a spiritual reflection, and was joined by Carla Castillo '13 for the Alma Mater.


  The student speaker was English major Hareem Shafi ’13, a summa cum laude graduate.


Faculty members were recognized for their continuing commitment.

The Lindsey Professorship for next year has been awarded to Assistant Professor of Theater, Dr. Emma Dassori.

The Ruth Allinger Gibson (Class of 1926) Teaching Award's recipient is Associate Professor of Social and Political Systems, Dr. Michelle Cromwell.

The Rosario Tosiello Award for Integrity in Scholarship was awarded to Professor of Art History, Dr. William Stargard.

  Pine Manor College Faculty Award is given to a full-time student graduating with a Bachelor of Arts degree, with the highest grade point average upon completion of her academic work at Pine Manor College.The 2013 Pine Manor College Faculty Award was awarded to Hareem Shafi.

  The Exemplary Achievement Award was established in memory of Jane French McCall Dill, a member of the Class of 1939 and a former trustee of the College. This year's award was presented to Margaret Roberts.


The Pine Manor College Awardis given to a graduating senior who has, in the opinion of the faculty and staff, made outstanding contributions to the College and to her peers.This year’s Pine Manor College Award was presented to Carla Castillo.



The President's Cup is awarded to a graduate who has furthered our understanding of leadership and social responsibility through her personal and community accomplishments The 2013 President’s Cup was awarded to Karm Syndia Augustin.

  Elizabeth Azu was announced to be the newest Recent Graduate Trustee on the Board of Trustees of Pine Manor College.


  An honorary degree was awarded to Bishnu Maya Pariyar ’04, Founder & President of Empower Dalit Women of Nepal. To learn more about our honorary degree recipient click here
  Conferring the degrees were Serena Kokjer Greening ’59 Chair of the Board of Trustees with Dr. Ellen Hurwitz and Dr. William Vogele.

Our Commencement ceremony was concluded with greetings from Shannon Miranda ’00, president of the Alumnae Board and member of the Board of Trustees, and ended with closing remarks by PMC Interim President, Dr. Ellen Hurwitz.

Congratulations to our 2013 Graduates!