Kirylo Earns Softball All-Conference Honors, Bushika and Vaughan named All-Freshman

Courtesy of the Great South Athletic Conference

ATLANTA, Ga. – The Great South Athletic Conference held a banquet in Atlanta on Friday night to honor the softball student-athletes for their outstanding performances – both on the field and in the classroom -  this season.

Finlandia's Alexis Lawley captured the 2014 GSAC Softball Player of the Year award while Agnes Scott's Holly Jones was bestowed the Pitcher of the Year distinction. Scottie teammate Alliyah Williams scored Freshman of the Year status and their coach, Tayla DiGirolamo, was named Coach of the Year by her peers.

Pine Manor senior Macayla Kirylo (Pawtucket, R.I.), above left, took home All-Conference honors, while freshman Alexis Bushika, above middle, and Maria Vaughan, above right, were both named to the All-Freshman team. In additon, Kirylo, fellow senior Natasha Kopystynsky (Johnsbur, Ill.), junior Anastasia Walker (West Springfield, Mass.) and sophomore Cathryn White (Douglas, Mass.) all earned a place on the GSAC All-Academic Team. Freshman Mayuka Watanabe (Osaka, Japan) was Pine Manor's recipient of the sportsmanship award.

For a complete list of winner, see below:

2014 GSAC Softball Awards

Player of the Year: Alexis Lawley of Finlandia
Pitcher of the Year: Holly Jones of Agnes Scott
Freshman of the Year: Alliyah Williams of Agnes Scott
Coach of the Year: Tayla DiGirolamo of Agnes Scott

Softball All-Conference Team
Catchers (2)
Alexis Lawley (Finlandia) and Kat Riale (Agnes Scott)

Infielders (7)
Ashley Monsrud (Agnes Scott), Kierston Garner (Salem), Macayla Kirylo (Pine Manor), Amber Bass (Salem), Shelby Swann (Trinity Washington), Casey Arnold (Agnes Scott), Tiffany Cain (Agnes Scott)

Outfielders (5)
Aimee McKibbin (Agnes Scott), Kristi Morton (Salem), Colleen DeGraff (Wesleyan) Alyssa Millikin (Agnes Scott), Amanda Allen (Maine-Presque Isle)

Utility Players (2)
Morgan Coleman (Salem) and Alliyah Williams (Agnes Scott)

Pitchers (4)
Holly Jones (Agnes Scott), Julia Blattner (Agnes Scott), Lauryn Smith (Salem), Alyson Herman (Finlandia)

Softball All-Freshman Team

Alliyah Williams (Agnes Scott)
Morgan Coleman (Salem)
Holly Jones (Agnes Scott)
Jema Bravo (Wesleyan)
Jade Perle (Trinity Washington)
Alexis Bushika (Pine Manor)
Hillary Brewer (Finlandia)
Kelsey Daigneau (Agnes Scott)
Lauryn Smith (Salem)
Maria Vaughan (Pine Manor)

Softball All-Academic Team

Agnes Scott

Ashley Monsrud
Casey Arnold


Alyson Herman

Maine-Presque Isle

Jessica Campbell
Taylor Cochran
Brittany Luetjen
Kathryn Patenaude

Pine Manor

Natasha Kopystynsky
Cathryn White
Anastasia Walker
Macayla Kirylo


Ashley Hall


Emily DeVane


Colleen DeGraff
Anna Jones
Sara McMahon

Softball All-Sportsmanship Team

Agnes Scott: Tiffany Cain
Finlandia: Heather Grimm
MPI: Whitney Donovan
Pine Manor: Mayuka Watanabe
Salem: Lauryn Smith
TWU: Bi'Anncha Andrews

4/26/14 - Softball
2014 GSAC Tournament Game 1
L, 8-0 (6 inn.) vs. Salem
Box Score | Recap

4/25/14 - Softball
2014 GSAC Tournament Game 8
L, 9-8 vs. Wesleyan
Box Score | Recap

Recruit Me! Donate to Athletics Alumnae Connection