Solstice MFA Announces Four Fellowships for Writers

The Solstice Low-Residency MFA in Creative Writing Program of Pine Manor College is pleased to announce the addition of four new $1,000 fellowships for writers: The Dennis Lehane Fellowship for Fiction; the Michael Steinberg Fellowship for Creative Nonfiction; the Jacqueline Woodson Fellowship for a Young People’s Writer of African or Caribbean Descent; and the Sharon Olds Fellowship for Poetry.

All fellowship awards are based on the quality of a writing sample.

Fellowship applications are due October 15, 2010 (not a postmark date; materials must be received in our offices before or on October 15). Fellowship applicants are strongly encouraged to apply early. Notification letters will be mailed to winners only on November 1, 2010. Awards must be applied toward the winter residency/spring semester directly following acceptance; fellowships cannot be deferred or applied toward a summer residency/fall semester start.

About our donors

(underwriters of the Sharon Olds Poetry Fellowship wish to remain anonymous)

  • Dennis LehaneA former staff writer for HBO’s The Wire, Solstice MFA writer-in-residence Dennis Lehane is author of eight novels, including Mystic River, Shutter Island, and Gone, Baby, Gone —each of which has been made into a feature film— and the fall 2008 release, The Given Day.
  • Michael SteinbergSolstice MFA writer-in-residence Michael Steinberg is a memoirist, essayist, and founding editor of the literary journal, Fourth Genre: Explorations in Nonfiction. His memoir Still Pitching was named the 2003 Independent Press memoir of the year.
  • Jacqueline WoodsonSolstice consulting writer Jacqueline Woodson is author of numerous books for children and young adults, including Feathers, a Newbery Honor Book; Miracle’s Boys, winner of the Coretta Scott King Award; and Locomotion, winner of the Horn Book Award.