Valerie Red-Horse to Receive Leadership Award

Valerie Red-HorseNoted Native American screenwriter and entrepreneur Valerie Red-Horse will receive Pine Manor College’s Award for Inclusive Leadership and Social Responsibility at a special ceremony in the Founder’s Room in the Ferry Administration Building on Thursday, February 26, 2004 at 7pm. Ms. Red-Horse will then speak about her creative work on behalf of Native Americans. The PMC Leadership Award is presented nationally to women who have made a positive difference in the lives of others through the values of collaboration, compassion, and inclusion.

Ms. Red-Horse is an enrolled member of the Texas Band of Cherokee. A graduate of UCLA and the Lee Strasberg Theater Institute, she has extensive credits as an actress. Frustrated with the small and stereotypical roles available to Native Americans, Ms. Red-Horse turned to writing and producing. Her original screenplay, Lozen, based on the life of an Apache woman warrior, was honored by the prestigious Sundance Institute Writers Lab. In 1995, she created the story for the Emmy-winning CBS special, My Indian Summer. She also produced an American Film Institute project, Looks Into the Night, and served as a screenwriter and lead actress for the film.
The productions of her company, Red-Horse Native Productions, include Naturally Native, which deals with a contemporary Indian woman and True Whispers, a documentary about the Navajo code talkers.

Ms. Red-Horse is active in the Bel Air Presbyterian Church and its outreach ministries and youth workshops at Indian reservations nation-wide. She is the director of the Hollywood Access Program for Natives, which provides internships and career opportunities for Native Americans.

Ms. Red-Horse is the founder and chair of Native Nations Asset Management and Red-Horse Securities Inc., which is the first Native American owned securities brokerage investment bank in the country. With her husband, Ms. Red-Horse also owns an advertising specialty business.

Ms. Red-Horse is a member of the Screen Actors Guild, the Writers Guild of America, and the Directors Guild of America. A Cherokee Medal of Honor awardee, she has received the Eagle Spirit award and the Producer of the Year award at the American Indian Film Festival.Previous recipients of the PMC leadership award, which was established in 1997, include Liz Walker, News Anchor, WBZ-TV4; Wilhelmina Cole Holladay, Founder and Chair of the Board, The National Museum of Women in the Arts; Wendy Kopp, Founder and President of Teach For America; Mavis Nicholson Leno, Chair, Campaign for Afghan Women and Girls, Feminist Majority Foundation; Nell Merlino and Iris Burnett, Co-Founders of Count-Me-In for Women’s Economic Independence; Kathy Checci, Attorney and President of The Trusteeship; Alison Winter, Vice President, Northern Trust Bank; Jeanne Wolf, TV and Print Journalist; and Lynn M. Martin, Former Secretary of Labor.