Select Page

Past Honorary Degree Recipients


Thomas M. O’Reilly, M.B.A.,
President, Pine Manor College

Keith Motley, Ph.D.,
Professor, Chancellor Emeritus, UMass Boston


Melissa James,
Founder, President and CEO of The Tech Connection

William Gross,
Commissioner of the Boston Police Department


Michael S. Dukakis
Former Massachusetts Governor and presidential nominee 

Renée Watson
Author, activist, and educator 


Tommy Chang, Ed.D.
Superintendent of the Boston Public Schools 

Katrina Shaw, M.S.W.
Chief Executive Officer, Freedom House, Inc. 


Linda “Lenny” Kooluris Dobbs ’68
Painter, Illustrator and Photographer 

Brenda Bernstein Shapiro ’58
Member of the Pine Manor College Board of Trustees 


Serena Strazzulla Kokjer Greening ’59
Board of Trustees, Pine Manor College 


Barnett “Barney” Frank, M.A.
Member of the U.S. House of Representatives from Massachusetts 1981-2013 

Elizabeth Van Orsdel Moulds ’64
Trustee of Pine Manor College, 2006-2014 


Bishnu Maya Pariyar, M.A.
Founder & President, Empower Dalit Women of Nepal (EDWON) 2004 graduate of Pine Manor College 


Jill Ker Conway
Author, Visiting Scholar and Professor at MIT President of Smith College, 1975-1985 

Linda Dorcena Forry
State Representative for the 12th Suffolk District of Massachusetts, 2005-Present 

Laurie Samuels Pascal
Vice President, Business Development and Planning, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center Trustee of Pine Manor College, 2002-2012 


Lydia R. Diamond
Playwright and Producer 

Gloria Nemerowicz, Ph.D.
President, Pine Manor College


Candice Wolfswinkel ’97
Chief of Staff, TOMS Shoe Company 


Trish Carter
CEO and Co-Founder, Dancing Deer Baking Company 

Corneila Kubler Kavanagh ’60

Gloria Reuben
Actress, Singer, Social Activist 


Lori Arviso Alvord, M.D. Associate Dean of Student and Multicultural Affairs, Dartmouth Medical School 

Diane B. Patrick Attorney and First Lady of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts 

Deborah E. Wiley ’66 Senior Vice President, Corporate Communications, John Wiley & Sons, Inc. 


JudyAnn Rollins
Bigby, M.D.
Secretery of Health and Human Services, Commonwealth of Massachusetts 

Constance Hess Williams ’64
Senator, 17th District Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

Jacqueline Woodson Award-Winning Author 


Anne Noland Edwards ’70, P’00
Co-Chair, Board of Trustees, Pine Manor College 

Philip O. Geier, Ph.D. Co-Chair, Board of Trustees, Pine Manor College Executive Director, Davis United World College Scholars Program

Yvonne Gomez-Carrion, M.D.
Assistant Professor, Harvard Medical School Associate in Obstetrics and Gynecology, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center 

Swanee Hunt, Ph.D. Director, Women and Public Policy Program, John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University 

Victoria Rowell Actress, Author and Dancer Founder, Rowell Foster Children’s Positive Plan 


Leslie Allen
Founder and Executive Director, Leslie Allen Foundation 

Johnnetta B. Cole, Ph.D.
President, Bennett College for Women 

Emily Kernan Rafferty ’69
President, Metropolitan Museum of Art, NYC 


Callie Crossley Television and Documentary Producer 

Maconda Brown O’Connor ’50, Ph.D. Education Scholar 

Patara Raiva Sila-On ’61
Chair, S&P Syndicate Public Company Limited 

Lillian Vernon Founding Chairman, Lillian Vernon Corporation 


Priscilla Dewey Houghton ’44
Arts Educator and Author 

Barbara Lee
Principal, The Barbara Lee Family Foundation 

Gloria White-Hammond, M.D.
Co-Pastor, Bethel AME Methodist Church 


Anne B. Batterson ’59 Author, Adventurer, Teacher 

Marsha Johnson Evans President and CEO, American Red Cross 

Antonia Coella Novello, M.D.
New York State Health Commissioner 


Libby C. Candler ’77 Co-Chair, Board of Trustees, Pine Manor College 

Susan D. Lindquist, Ph.D.
Director, Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research 

Marita Rivera
Vice President and Radio General Manager, WGBH 


Vicki Donlan ’71 Founder and Publisher, Women’s Business Pine Manor College 

Sandra Labas Fenwick Chief Operating Officer, Children’s Hospital, Boston 

Martella Wilson-Taylor President and CEO, YWCA-Boston


Catherine Bertini Executive Director, World Food Programme 

Associate Director for Faculty Development and Director of the Division of Public Health Practice Harvard School of Public Health 

Nina Totenberg
Legal Affairs Correspondent, National Public Radio 

Karen Smyers
World Champion Triathelete 


The Honorable Jane Swift
Lieutenant Governor of Massachusetts 

Kip Tiernan
Founder, Rosie’s Place Co-Founder, Poor People’s United Fund 

Linda Whitlock President, Boys & Girls Clubs of Boston 


Star Jones, Esq.
Co-Host , ABC TV’s The View 

Susan J. Blumenthal, M.D.
Assistant Surgeon General of the United States 

Frances Crandall Dyke ’25 (posthumous)
PMC Alumna and Benefactor 


Judy George
Chair and CEO, Domain Home Fashions 

Lydia Villa-Komaroff, Ph.D.
Vice President for Research and Professor of Neurology, Northwestern University

Edith Blakeslee Phelps Author, Spokesperson, and Consultant on the Education and Development of Girls and Young Women 


Teresa Heinz Philanthropist and Chair The Heinz Family Foundation 

Barbara Gray Koch ’50 Trustee Emerita,
Pine Manor College 

Patricia Smith
Poet, Boston Globe Columnist 

Lydia Woodward ’71 Executive Producer/Writer, ER 


Rodman R. Henry Professor Emeritus, Art History Pine Manor College 

Margaret Lazarus Documentary Film Maker 

Mary Richardson
Co-Anchor, Channel 5’s Chronicle 


Michel Butor Author 

Susan Hampshire Actress 

Robert Conover Macauley
President, Americares Foundation 

Liz Walker
Anchor, WBZ-TV4 


Susan McGee Bailey Director, Wellesley College Center for Research on Women 

Euterpe Boukis Dukakis
Retired Educator 

Sherri Poe
CEO and Founder, Ryka, Inc. 


Richard E. Deutsch Trustee Emeritus,
Pine Manor College Philanthropist 

William Randolph Hearst, Jr. (posthumous) Chairman, Hearst Enterprises 


Wallis Annenberg ’59 Counselor, Daniel Freeman Hospital Editorial Staff, TV Guide 

Mother Clara Hale Founder, Hale House, New York City 

Seamus Heaney
Poet, Nobel Prize Winner 

John A. Rassias
Faculty, Dartmouth College Founder, Rassias Language Institute 


Alice Tepper Marlin President, Council on Economic Priorities 

Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Chairman Emeritus, McGraw-Hill, Inc. 


The Honorable Walter H. Annenberg Philanthropist and former Ambassador to Great Britain 

Edgar Bronfman, Jr. President, Seagram Company 

Martina S. Horner Former President, Radcliffe College 

Donald Saunders
Real Estate Developer 

Liv Ullman


Diahann Carroll Actress, Singer 

Nancy Dickerson Writer, TV Reporter 

Marvin Minsky Mathematician, Physicist, Engineer 

George Plimpton Author/Editor, Paris Review 


Leonard Bernstein Composer, Conductor 

Helen Grace Coates Former PMC Faculty, Concert Pianist, Arts Administrator 

James Browning Wyeth

Kitty Carlisle Hart Actress, Singer, Arts Administrator 


Sharon Percy Rockefeller
President, WETA FM 

Judy Woodruff
Former Chief Correspondent, MacNeil/Lehrer News Hour


Josephine Abercrombie ’44
Chairman, J.A. Abercrombie & Sons


John Marion
Honorary Chairman, Sotheby’s North America 


Barbara Carroll Block Jazz Pianist 

Katherine Fanning Editor, Christian Science Monitor 


Sherry Lansing Independent Producer and Partner, 

Jaffe-Lansing Productions 

Emily Wetherby Sullivan ’24
Designer, Emily Wetherby Associates 


Leonore Annenberg Former Chief of Protocol, U.S. Department of State

Pauline Tompkins ’38 Educator, Writer President Emerita, Cedar Crest College 


Dorothy McGuire Swope ’36

Frederick Carlos Ferry, Jr.
President Emeritus, Pine Manor College 

Best CBD Gummies in 2021

Best CBD Gummies - Best CBD Gummies for Pain - Peninsula Daily News Best CBD Gummies for Anxiety - Redmond Reporter Best CBD Gummies for Sleep - The Daily World